Abandoned Quilt Renewed

How about this beauty, right?!?! It is unfortunately not one of mine. While visiting with a friend awhile back, I was talking to her about quilts and I had noticed a beautiful quilt pillow sham on her chair that she uses, the conversation came up that she had a quilt that goes with that pillow sham case that she no longer uses and would gladly give it to me. She said she would have to dig it out and find it for me. She did state it had a few snags in it, but that the only reason she stopped using it was because she upgraded from a full to a queen size bed and this was just not quite big enough for the full bed. 
A few weeks later I was going to her home for lunch, she had found it. She broke this beauty out and while it needed to be washed real well and there were only 3 small snags in it that needed mending… I was IN LOVE. She had also a small decorative pillow that came with it (not sure where my photo got lost) and gave that to me as well. 
After a good wash, it looked even more vibrant. The colors, the softness and vintage appeal of this quilt has me not wanting to use it but only for display. It now resides on the back of one of my couches. I do still need to mend those few snags but I will get to that in the near days. 
My friend continued to state that she wished she was able to find one that she liked enough that would fit her queen size bed… so what does any quilter do? Their minds start racing! After staring at the quilt laid out in my living room for a bit, I realized it really isn’t a hard pattern to figure out and do. I am not on a mission to make a Christmas Gift for this friend of mine and present her with the same pattern but more updated lovely vintage fabric for her bed; AND it will be a queen! Like I needed another project… 
Has anyone ever passed something down onto you? Have you ever tried to replicate the pattern? Any interesting stories behind the ones that have been passed down? Please share as this has begun to fascinate me! 
Sew Stitching Cute

2 comments on “Abandoned Quilt Renewed

  1. Oh I wish my mother had saved all of my grandmothers afghans that she had made… she wasn't a quilter but she was a sewer and got me into it all. I know I won't be able to replicate the fabric, but the pattern is what my friend loved and she wished it was bigger. I am so sentimental when it comes to what others give even when I know they really don't want to but are parting with it as well, and she knew I loved quilting so I was honored that she chose to give it to me. She has given me so much more and I am hoping to finally give it back to her by making her the quilt. :o)

    Like

Leave a Reply

