Better late than never…

So I discovered the Foothills Sew-a-Long from Meadow Mist Designs about two weeks or so ago. I knew I wanted to jump right in, even if I had a little bit of catching up to do. Well… I finally got my fabric selection in last night! In fact, I received THREE packages last night… happy mail!

This mystery quilt allows for either scrappy or for one fabric for each set, totaling 3 ‘sets’ of fabric. The only thing stated was to make sure the colors contrasted well. For about a week I searched a few places, waiting for something to call out to me from what I was envisioning of the design (as this is all a mystery quilt and you don’t know what design it is making). I did decide I was going to do one fabric for each set and keep it simple, because my normal is to go with scrappy (I can’t help it). I want to push myself outside what I normally do.

Here is what I needed:
Fabric Set A – 1 3/4 yards
Fabric Set B – 3 yards
Fabric Set C – 5/8 yard
I do not like to split fabric up from 1 yard increments unless it is at the end of a bolt and I decide to just take it with me… so these yardage requirements are always rounded up for me, no matter how little I need of just that one yard (you never know… future right?!). So I needed for A: 2 yards, B: 3 yards, C: 1 yard. 
Fabric Set B
I have had this lovely pink fabric for about a year now, and I have 20 yards of it. I decided that this quilt would be the one I go ahead and use the first bit of it. It will be Fabric Set B, the background. I wouldn’t be able to tell you what this is called or where it came from, as I got this from the lovely lady whom I received/purchased so much fabric from that I shared here; I had loved this fabric so much I took the entire bolt. ;o) 
Fabric Set A
Now that I had my background fabric selected (high five for using stash), now it was time look for (to purchase) the additional fabric. I am obsessed with green, and really thought the right green would look great with the contrast with the medium pale pink. It seems a bit brighter than what it is… it really does play well. It is from Robert Kaufmans Kona Cottin Solids in Sprout. This is Fabric Set A which is the ”main design” of the quilt… so I really think it will work well to show off the pattern. 

 

It then called for Fabric Set C, the ‘highlight’ design of the pattern. I have been obsessed with coral this year but have yet to make anything with that color, and once again… I thought it would be perfect to push me outside my normal color arrangement. I am LOVING this and it unfortunately shows it a bit more orange than it is; however I love that it is versatile in that one direction (left photo) it looks like a flower, but flipping it around (right photo) it resembles a jelly fish. Coral Reef would almost have been a great name for this fabric; it could be the coral in the reef or the jelly fish in the coral reef. It is Helen’s Garden – Pirouette Coral Yardage by Tamara Kate for Michael Miller.

Is there anything you have created that you were unsure of from the very beginning, yet kept going with it? How about anything you still want to, yet haven’t? I say let’s go for it!!! Hear us quilters roar!
I am walking unsteady with this one, yet confident. I will be cutting into this tonight (if you follow me on instagram, you have already seen a sneak peak)… and I have full faith it will be Sew Stitching Cute!

2 comments on “Better late than never…

Leave a Reply

