WIP Wednesday – At it again…

I have been A-Wall unexpectedly due to family coming into town last weekend. They drove from Southern California to Kansas City and I have not seen them in almost two years. There has been something to do/to be done every day and if you wonder where I get my OCD on Organization from, it would be from my mother as she has it all listed out (literally)! Each day and each activity has it’s own list and priorities. We all (My dad, little sister and me) march in a single file line to that list!

August started a lot of changes within my quilting, and with those changes they have left me stumped and constantly feeling overwhelmed because I still could never feel good in my space. It wasn’t a matter of my organization, it was a matter of the lack of things I needed to assist in my organization. Sometimes, trying to use anything you have just doesn’t cut it.

All new shelves

My family… oh my family. I love them all to death, and I have a fairly large family (my oldest brother is in his late 40’s). As I am approaching 30 in just under 2 months and with the arrival of my mom at my house, she wanted to support my quilting/sewing passion to the max (which she has from the start already) but wanted to do something extra special for the approaching 30. So with that came a whole new sewing room… again (I spoke about my prior attempts here and here). Kansas City just opened in September it’s very own Ikea… so off to Ikea we went, and Lowe’s, and Wal-Mart, and JoAnn’s Fabric Store, and …. many other places and trips back to each. No complaints here though! The entire house ended up getting a face-lift in the end and I couldn’t be more enthralled with it. The sewing room will be completed this Friday and I am super excited to share it with you because my creative juices are flowing sew much and I am eager to get back to work. I don’t know if I will ever be leaving this room again.

My very first free motion quilting perfectly on display. (Yes, I still need to finish sewing the binding on in the back)

This trip has really made me appreciate my parents and baby sister in a different light, all part of continuing to “grow up”, right? I intend to highlight my appreciate to each of them separately in my upcoming blog posts. I seriously have SEW much to share… but for now, my family time is first as I am soaking in every moment with them.

My sister putting the furniture together
Now to spend the remainder of the week with the family to no longer make this house and sewing/quilt room make-over no longer a WIP. It’s already Sew Stitching Cute!
4 comments on “WIP Wednesday – At it again…

  1. I totally enjoyed my time with them and all photos are being posted tomorrow on the blog for the finish of the space! It was SEW much fun… even made a few things for my sister that I will put up once she sends me pictures from her home with them. 🙂 I almost couldn't give them to her… but she did so much for me so I had to do sew much for her!

    Like

  2. Ikea JUST opened in early September here. I am from California and they already had one, so I have missed it! I am SO happy they have it here. Although I doubt the check book will appreciate it. LoL Check out the blog tomorrow, posting all photos of it! Even when I have to force myself to have a day of relaxation, I still have to stop and stare at the room for a moment and appreciate each spot in the room.

    Like

Leave a Reply

