Deadlines Approaching

As October is ending and we welcome November, I have more approaching deadlines creeping up. While initially I think of stress when I type that out, I am finding myself more relaxed for the first time in awhile when it came to my sewing. Not only do I have this amazing new space to allow my creativity to go with it, but I have made good progress on all of my deadlines, which I thank tremendously for the new space as well. I haven’t been NOT wanting to do something since it’s been completed!

–  Two Large Dog Beds: One female and one male dog. I am going out on a limb here (not really) and guessing that my SIL and BIL do not read my blog, so I am safe to give my design concept away for the time being. They have two dogs, Pica (Pee-kuh) and Floyd who are extremely lovable and beautiful dogs. My SIL and BIL recently bought their first home and are having their house warming party this Saturday. In all honesty, I have struggled about what I should get them and they are personally not very easy to shop for. (Hmph). The SIL really loved the dog bed I made for my sister and we talked about making one for their dogs… so why not make it a house warming gift? I mean, I am a sewer/quilter, so you should be expecting something homemade.

Pica: Green and Purple
Floyd: Orange and Grey

 – King Size Purple Chevron Quilt: My friend Kathi bought this fabric literally over a year ago and has not really done anything since. I finally was able to get her to get some cutting done this past weekend when she was over and later that evening I finished up the HST for the 1st row.

30’s Birthday Quilt: Aaahh… my 30’s birthday quilt, and I have FOUR of them to make! I really can’t get too much into the details as I believe one or maybe even two of the people may read my blog, even if randomly; we all turn(ed) [I am the last of the 4 of us to turn 30 in December] 30 this year and we have all been friends since pre-school; therefore I am marking it with a special quilt. For mine… this shall be the main color palette. Yes, every color will be used.

Liberty of London Partner Swap: I am part of a Liberty of London Tana Lana Swap and we have no idea who is making something for us, it is a secret. It has been fun seeing all of the things on Instagram (#lolswapround1) and wondering who exactly is making what for whom. Some give little hints here and there, some only show parts of the projects they are making so that it doesn’t give it away too much for the person. These are to be arrived to the specific partner by Nov. 10th and so this weekend I will be finishing up the last few things I have.

Pillow: The coloring on this came out horrible. It is a nice teal/blue shade mixed with a light blue. This is the beginning of a pillow, that is all I can say.
           
Small zippered pouch
Coasters

I still have other WIPs such as my Rock’n Round Robin row I need to put on for the prior person and has to be mailed out; however I am still working on that one and do not have any picture of it for some reason. These are my current deadline items that need to be done sooner rather than later and with these, better late then never does not suffice. What deadlines do you have approaching or how do you handle your deadlines? How far ahead do you typically like to be or are you the “pull an all-nighter” before the day it needs to be done? I find myself to be in between the two and am told regularly I work better when I am busy and idle time is not my friend. I have come to accept that. 
Sew Stitching Cute
3 comments on “Deadlines Approaching

  1. You do have a lot going on right now! The dog beds sound like a perfect house warming gift – I am sure your SIL and BIL (and their pups) will really appreciate them. Your 30s quilt colors are fun, and I can't wait to see what you do with them all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

