To 30’s and (Re)Creating Myself

It’s been no lie by some of my prior posts over the past couple of months that I have hit a few rough spots, even if I don’t explain everything. It isn’t because I am unwilling to share, but more unsure of how you go about sharing some things. I knew it would come to me when I was ready, and boy was I antsy to be ready!

My birthday was exactly one week from today, and it was the big 30. Turning 30, while I am aware it is more mentally than it is the actual age or turn of events that have occurred, it is turning 30 that will be one of those pivotal moments in my life I will remember when I made changes. My boss’s took me to dinner for my birthday, which was really sweet. We included our company Elf on a Shelf to tag along. I am always up for festivities and lots of laughs!

December 1st marked my anniversary for when I officially arrived in Kansas from Southern California, 4 years ago. I don’t struggle with necessarily being away as much as the lack of life I have been living. I have lived away from home and CA off and on since I was 16. I am not afraid of being away from my family and friends or making a life and home elsewhere from where I grew up; what I am afraid of is not making new friends and living a life… wherever I am. I have discovered that in the past few years I have allowed myself to be withdrawn (which is SO NOT ME) and have allowed my fear of things to hold me back… which I have never done or allowed prior in my life. Without going into details as to the events that I believe altered my proactive nature, I know that I walked into this year (2014) with a clear conscious of where I wanted to be by the end of the year. I knew I wanted to emotionally and mentally be in a better place with myself; that’s where I knew it all started. Everything else I wanted would not follow if I didn’t think different about my choices, my surroundings, my life. I never thought long or hard enough as to how I was going to get there, I just knew that I would. And I did.

First Step: My own selfish birthday present, I decided I wanted to quilt. Can’t go wrong with that, can you? I found a new place that is 30 minutes away from me, rather than the one that is in walking distance from me. Unfortunately, her scheduling is at best a month in advance to schedule time to rent on the long arm, and anytime after Sept, you’re looking at 3 months booking out. That just obviously doesn’t work for me! I have nothing against her and wish it would have worked out better, but decided driving and distance was worth the convenience. When I googled “Long Arm Rental in Kansas City”, Quilted Memories was right there. To cut a long story short, I ended up contacting the store and arranged a time for a quick 1 hour class to review their machine (they use Nolte while I was use to using a Tin Lizzie machine) and get familiar with them. I enjoyed myself and the ladies in the shop so much that I scheduled time the week of my birthday!

I finished this hexagon flower patch top quite awhile back, and decided to finally get it finished. I went to town quilting random flowers with leaves and lots of loopty-loo’s. I also chose a first for me, a blend of cotton and wool batting. I do love it, but doubt I’ll use it a lot knowing that a lot of people are sensitive to wool! The texture feels so good on this quilt and I can’t wait to bind it and put it through its first wash. The crinkles… oh the crinkles… they are going to be Sew Stitching Cute!

First Step into creating myself again. 2015 is going to be even better. Hopefully you’re around for the journey!

2 comments on “To 30’s and (Re)Creating Myself

  1. I am also turning 30 this year, and you're right it's a whole mental thing. A couple months ago one of my co-workers loaned me the book the Happiness Project. I have really enjoyed taking on the monthly challenges and found them manageable. Hopefully 2015 you come out of your funk after all you're now fabulous and thirty 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

