Blog Up-do

I am first starting this post off to merely document for myself a complete up-do of my blog with a new header and all! I am loving it and it is in my favorite color too!!! As you can see (if you have visited before), I have completely changed up my layout and color scheme for my site. I am loving it. SEW FRESH! I guess that makes sense why Lorna with “Sew Fresh” Quilts called hers just that.

I did have a finish this week (aside from binding) and I am going to show more pictures here. I really am so happy I got this one done, considering it has been around as only a finished top for quite some months (:::cough cough::: -May- :::cough cough:::). I keep saying I need the binding, and that WILL happen this weekend. I decided I am going to machine bind it so I know I can get it done in just a quick afternoon.

This was my first time on a Nolte machine, and I loved it. I think I really love any long arm machine though to be truthful; however for some reason I still have a very sweet spot for Tin Lizzie. Ugh. I only wish the convenience of how close the store is and availability would have worked out better. Don’t get me wrong though, I am LOVING the shop I go to now and have gathered lots of new friendly faces.

I kept the back simple, but with just one hexagon each of the prints used on the front, I thought it was fitting. You can see some of my thread issues I had during the process, but you can tell where I ended my quilting (bottom left) how it gradually got better. Progress. That in itself makes me smile.

I did also finish some quilting, not that I finished the quilting on the quilt, but got around to it. I worked on two quilts, but I can’t show one yet, but here is the start of the quilt I just put together this past weekend and mentioned earlier this week.

Free form doodle quilting

I decided to use this quilt for a test quilting block quilt; therefore it would be remaining with me. Let me just say, that I was THANKFUL that I made that decision. I ended up getting to use the shops newest machine that came in and OH MY GOODNESS, it is soooooooo smooth. I did run into quite a bit of thread issues (which is why I am happy I decided it would stay with me)… and I will be having to pick some of my quilting out, but that is ok. Luckily it is mostly in the smaller block areas.

***Please excuse my threadiness… with all the thread issues I was having last night I did not have time to stop and tie every break***

The block with polk-a-dots, I tried doing pebbles; while my pebbles were going good, the top tension was horribly off and the thread on the back are all out of wack… so I shall be unpicking those.

I purposely chose white thread on this, I wanted to try out contrast thread… this was my last block for the night and my frustration grew so big with how many break I had due to thread breaking (hence all the straggling threads)

What all did you finish up this week? I’d love to know and see! I am linking up today with Amanda Jean at Crazy Mom Quilts and TGIFF which is hosted this week with M-R at Quilt Matters. Join in on the party and show your stuff off!

4 comments on “Blog Up-do

Leave a Reply

