One Step = Progress

“One project step at a time.” That is what I keep saying to myself. Each step I take, each project I make any progress on, is the right step in the direction and one step closer. One of these days, I will have all of my WIPs down to only a few. I will always have tons of ideas… but starting them before finishing so many other prior ones has needed to change. Now that I ranted a little, I do have a few pretty pictures to share and for what I have been working on. There is progress being made in the back end of this blog, I promise!

I’ve been working on a baby quilt for awhile now, off and on. The picture above is actually not part of the quilt, but a little extra something I am making that will go along with the quilt. I have finished quilting it though, just have to finish putting the binding on. It will soon be in its forever home. I am quite excited about this one, as I wasn’t initially as it isn’t what I would really go for on my own.

I really just quilted a lot of loop-de-loops on this one, with the occasional spelling of the baby’s first, middle and last name. It really blends in so you don’t really see it which is nice, but it is also nice knowing it is there and it gives it a bit more of a personalized feel to it.

I have finally began my block piecing for my 30’s Quilt, and let me tell you how. good. it. felt. It felt so good to finally have begun the processes of making blocks for the FOUR (Yes 4) Supernova Block Quilts. Since there will be 9 of these total, I have 8 more to go for just my personal quilt and 27 more for the other 3. Do you think I can have these done by the end of this summer? Lets just see!

Even more exciting, and this is more of a finish but I am sharing it anyway as it has a WIP on it; I finally got around to re-doing my design wall and I now have a whole new design wall that is slightly larger and MUCH more sturdy. I did the same method as I did before, but went in to it with a little more knowledge of how to put it together a bit more securely and which type of batting to use. I have officially learned that the quality of batting being able to adhere to the batting enough to stay on the board makes a huge difference. First I used cheap polyester batting which works great, but it has more “fluff” to it and doesn’t allow for the fabric to stick very well to it. This time I got quilters dream batting while on a major year end sale at Joanns and it is a HUGE difference. So much so that I did little video clips to show the drag that each batting allows. I will be sharing more of that later.

Now it’s time I get back to it so I have more to share and hopefully a FINISH for this Friday!

I am linking up today with WIP Wednesday w/ Freshly Pieced and Lets Bee Social w/Sew Fresh Quilts. Join in on the party and show your stuff off!

6 comments on “One Step = Progress

Leave a Reply

