WIDTW #2

This has been the first official FULL week of 2015! How has it started for everyone this year? Feeling the way you thought you would feel… differently… in between… ? I know that I am in between feeling the same and knowing that changes are happening. I think I am struggling and always will struggle with the comfortable habits you get yourself into.

Pattern by Noodlehead

I did make these beautiful Open Wide Zipper Pouches as Christmas gifts for a co-workers wife and daughter. The fabric is what really drew me to make pouches with these. I also knew his daughter loved bags and purses and his wife travels a lot. What woman doesn’t want a cute little bag to use? I am sure you can guess which bag went to whom?

If you guessed the beautiful purple with bright flowers went to the wife and the lovely red/pink and rainbow mix went to the daughter, you’d be right! I’m sure you took some time to think about it though. hehe. Both his wife and daughter loved them, which always makes a sewist/quilters heart super happy and smile big. I wouldn’t even be able to begin to explain the beautiful flowered fabric softness and the feel of it, it is almost as if it has a slight bit of flannel to it as it is super soft without being fuzzy. It would honestly make a great quilt back, especially with all of those bold colors. I could make tons more of those bags just like that though… they would look pretty awesome all lined up, right?

For the lining, I used RJR Fabric Chambraye, it’s a beautiful deep tones purple with a slight mix of red in it that brings it to the dark pink side as well. The pictures don’t do justice. It fit the bag well, though. The inside of the rainbow pouch I used the remainder of the red/pink fabric as I thought it suited it best, with of course a fun yellow zipper!

I finished the zipper pull ends with cute charms; a butterfly and then the first letter of the wife’s name along with a fortune telling ball (because we all know mothers can predict the future!). I love finishing zipper pull ends with charms, it’s a fun and really personalized way to add that extra touch!

Now that is What I Did This Week… What did YOU Do This Week? Show it off and feel accomplished in every endeavor you take on! I can’t wait to see! Make sure that if you share on Instagram, you use the #gettingquiltywithit

I am linking up to Finish it Friday with Crazy Mom Quilts and TGIFF host this by with M-R of Quilts Matters.… Show your stuff off too!

WIDTW


   

    An InLinkz Link-up

3 comments on “WIDTW #2

Leave a Reply

