Multiples of Everything

Apparently I seem to want to make multiples of everything. If I were in my own fantasy dream world, everything I make I would make two, one for whoever is getting the item and one for me. I almost ‘miss’ my items once I send them off, often thinking of them at the most random times. haha. I swear, each item I make is almost another ‘baby’ to me. Yep, I’m weird. I am ok with that. Weird is good. Weird is interesting.

This week I have been working on finishing up a project I was asked to join in on late last year for Fat Quarter Shop. I am super excited as I am loving how it is coming together. I took the picture above when I wanted to see where my contrast was at. I know I could have used one block with a deeper contrast on the lower left, but I don’t think it looks entirely out of balance either. I’m farther along than what this picture shows, but I can’t show you just yet!

I chose to use August by Cotton + Steel along with this lovely orange, it is in between a rich and burnt orange; it’s called Carrot by Kona Cotton.  It really blends nicely to the rest of the line in with still adding pop to it. Be sure to check out the full reveal in the upcoming weeks!

Awhile back Fat Quarter Shop came out with a Jelly Roll Jam II quilt, made with ONE (yes, ONE) Jelly Roll! How awesome is that!?!? I knew I had the perfect jelly roll to do this in, with perfect colors to make a boy and a girl based quilt. While I should have been working on other projects, I needed something simple and mindless and so I dove right into these.

They came together really fast and quick… I also have these farther along than what is on here as I also have a whole new design wall up. These are the only updated photos I have taken though that are worthy of posting. These are definitely Sew Stitching Cute and I think they would be perfect for a brother and sister or fraternal twins! Don’t you think? Who doesn’t love polk-a-dots for a baby, either? I have already selected the perfect backing for each of these… again coordinating. Now it’s just a matter of getting them basted and quilted! I do still need to make a binding, which I haven’t settled on anything yet. We shall see.

Two? Again!? You wouldn’t say! I have actually made quite a few of these over the past couple of weeks. These are (as you can’t tell) clear vinyl decorated bags, with an I.D./Badge up front. A few friends needed some and I needed one myself, so I made a few proto-types as I was learning how I wanted to do these exactly; once the ladies got theirs… it has grown and more and more continue to want to purchase them. I’m not complaining! I currently have 5 more to make by this Sunday, but these come together really easy that it shouldn’t take me long at all. I do need to go in search of some zippers though. They also future inside a divider to help keep things separated.

The ladies tell me what colors and/or specific design requests and I go off what they tell me and my thoughts, and select it as is and just make it away. I have discovered a better way to deal with vinyl, which is with lots of steam, because it is otherwise very stiff and does not bend or give well. At. All. So as you can see, I have quite a bit to be sewing and apparently not enough time to do it in! It’s ok, us quilters MAKE the time, right!? What all do you have going on in the middle of the week? I know it’s beautiful, as I can’t wait to see!

I am linking up today with WIP Wednesday w/ Freshly PiecedLets Bee Social w/Sew Fresh Quilts and Can I Get a Whoop Whoop w/Confessions of a Fabric Addict. Join in on the party and show your stuff off!

3 comments on “Multiples of Everything

  1. Funny! I always seem to pick up two of everything when I go grocery shopping…. I like two, too! Two quilts are better than one. And two pouches are twice as nice. Two of anything stitched has got to be cuter! Love your projects, Megan. So now you have two design walls, too?

    Like

Leave a Reply

