Branding Yourself and a Giveaway

It sounds so dirty, right? Branding yourself; also known as Personal Branding. Yet a necessity I believe if you wish to really ”get yourself out there”. My husband is constantly pushing me more than I push myself to ‘get myself out there’ and I have taken huge inspiration from Christa at Christa Quilts with the motto ‘Be Present’. Such simple words speak huge volumes. My husband recently gave me a huge boost in my branding and I am beginning to take a new approach to it. In other words, if everyone now only sees me in Sew Stitching Cute apparel, well… that’s going to be the way the story goes. haha.


Personal branding is the practice of people marketing themselves and their careers as brands.[1] While previous self-help management techniques were about self-improvement, the personal-branding concept suggests instead that success comes from self-packaging.[1] The term is thought to have been first used and discussed in a 1997 article by Tom Peters.[2]
Personal Branding is essentially the ongoing process of establishing a prescribed image or impression in the mind of others about an individual, group or organization.[3] Personal branding often involves the application of one’s name to various products. For example, the celebrity real-estate mogul Donald Trump uses his last name extensively on his buildings and on the products he endorses (e.g. Trump Steaks).
Source: Wikipedia

I am lucky to have a husband who supports my fabric obsession and dream for my quilting/sewing to be more than just me talking about it. He surprised me a few weeks ago with winter beanie caps with my simple logo and name! He did these himself! My husband works in the industry of clothing, apparel, etc. and while he works in the office end of it now, he did begin originally with being the one having all of the graphics/designs sewn onto the items at the request of the customer (Nike, Pantagonia, Sherwin Williams, etc.) If this is where it stopped, I would consider him a winner already! It doesn’t though.

I had been speaking about needing a LARGE duffel bag for transporting my quilts when I go to the LQS to quilt, etc. He got a a really cute bag a few months go that I adore and love; however it is simple not big enough to hold the quilt itself. I am always so worried on getting it them dirty if I dropped the quilt or something just happening. So of course, he surprised me with a VERY LARGE duffel bag for me to use and customized it! Winner winner, chicken dinner! 
This past Sunday, I went to my first Modern Quilt Guild (Kansas City) monthly sewing day! I almost talked myself out of it again (but that’s another story), but I am sooooo happy I went. I met some wonderful ladies and everyone was so nice! I also got a lot of sewing done. I had the chance to make use of my awesome new personalized bag and it was perfect. While it is large, it is really all I need for transport. Even with all of the stuff in it in the picture above, it still fits my sewing machine! One day I will get a sewing machine tote specifically for it (and maybe say something often enough for the babes to take hint). Until that day comes, this works wonders and I am loving it. It didn’t stop here either, he personalized several shirts for me as well. I have no pictures of those at this moment though. Someday later. I am so thankful for my husband and his ongoing thoughtfulness towards my dreams! 
Now, after speaking with my husband more after I received these awesome surprises; I requested if he would be able to make some for a giveaway! I would like to offer two people the chance to win TWO personalized beanie caps! How awesome is THAT!? I am hoping some day down the road I can offer more products being personalized, for now, lets start with keeping those heads warm! 
Giveaway Details:
 – 2 Beanie Caps. You will have your selection of two white, two black or one of each! Your choice of color thread as well! 
To enter, all you have to do is comment below and let me know what you would have put on the beanie and what branding methods you use! I am eager to learn more as I am tired of hearing my husband rant about my lack of branding! (I thought I was supposed to be the nagger? hehe)
 – Only one comment per person/per e-mail address.
 – Drawing will take place Wednesday evening and will be announced next Thursday, via e-mail and by edit of this post. 
For an additional entry, head on over to my Instagram, like the picture and tag a friend in the comments who you think might like a set!
I am linking up to Thankful Thursday’s w/Quilting Jet Girl and Needle and Thread Thursday w/My Quilt Infatuation. Be sure to show your stuff off, too!
5 comments on “Branding Yourself and a Giveaway

  1. I would definitely stick with Quilting Jetgirl, and either a simple rocket or “Sewing at the Speed of Sound” which I really like as a new tag line. It is fun how branding can evolve over time. 🙂 It sounds like you have an awesome and supportive husband.

    Like

Leave a Reply

