What I Did This Week #6 – WIDTW

Good morning and welcome to another week of WHAT I DID THIS WEEK! How has your week been? If you are anywhere but on the West side, you have probably been experiencing a nice cold chill this past week. I live in Kansas City and we got a bit of snow on Wednesday, most of it has already melted. We haven’t gotten too much snow this past winter and I know one of these winters we are bound to get it pretty good. Until then… I will relish in what a lot of KC Native’s say, “We’ve had pretty good winters the past few years” because I dearly miss my ocean. Enough about my boring weather report, lets show off our week!

First up, don’t forget I still have the giveaway that I announced earlier this week! It ends tomorrow some time early evening! Be sure to hop on over to my Instagram and find the original post with the below picture and enter!

The next up and really, for me… the most exciting thing that happened this week! Well, one of them, but I’ll show you the other one next week. I have already shared it over on at Instagram if you follow me. This was something I had personally been waiting for for a couple of weeks. I avidly read Sew Fresh Quilts blog and love her fresh attitude and designs. Plus, she is really nice. With that being said, she is on her mission for her 100 quilt labels that she ordered whenever ago from Ikaprint. I have enjoyed watching her progress as she counts down. I had played around with designs of my own for about two months and finally after up-doing my blog a little while back, I finally decided on a layout I was happy with and content with to mark as ‘my logo’. It feels exciting and odd to type say that. Aren’t they just super awesome!?! I can’t wait to use my first one!

Satin: 1” x 3/4” in Cream

That was pretty exciting, right? I really encourage anyone to do the same, even if for just bags, purses, mug rugs and all of the other fun stuff we make, these are the perfect little tag labels for them! There are other cute ways, don’t get me wrong… but if you’re like me and lazy in the way of just wanting to sew it right into the project, then this is the perfect fit for you! Plus, their pricing is really reasonable! No complaints!

I also joined Patch the Giraffe with Chelsea and From Bolt to Beauty with Michelle second round for a Charm swap! Last year it was all low volume fabrics. I enjoyed participating so much last year that I definitely had to get on the bandwagon for it again! This round is a selection of Art Gallery Fabrics! I still haven’t done too much more than what I started a few months ago with the low volume charm squares, but I was thinking about it last night so I know it will be is the foreseeable future! I have just been dreading unpicking all of that quilting in that one large square! (ugh) There are just a few more spots left, so hurry on over and join! All it requires is ONE yard of fabric and for you to cut it into 56 charm squares and send it on its way with a pre-paid envelope!

Sign up blog post link: click here

My selection for the swap

Now to recap the week! It has been fun, even though I really didn’t do much sewing. Sunday I started feeling the kink/pinched nerve on the right side of my neck start up again and it has slowly been creeping up even more throughout the week, making it almost impossible to sew as your neck is bent down a lot. I’ve had to take a seat this week to nurse it back to health without going back to the Dr. Last time I ended up in the Emergency Room as it got so bad.

My #craftybirthdaybash1 gift was received by the January birthday girl and I really need to make one of those fun Let Them Eat Cake pillows for myself! Along with that the Schnitzel & Boo Swap also was received which was the Color My Heart mini which again, yes… I need to make a version for myself now. Why do I have such a hard time making something for just me yet when I make something for someone else I want to keep it. haha. I did also receive my gift on the Schnitzel & Boo swap which was the UH-mazing mini which matches my logo on my blog (and everything else really)!!! She did such a great job and it hangs perfectly in my sewing studio! The last thing I sewed this past weekend was the Elephants for the Elephant Parade QAL with Sew Fresh Quilts and a block for another swap I am doing. I also showed off the awesome quilt I received as a gift for my 30th Birthday from a co-worker made by his grandmother and mother. Even though not much sewing from me happened, a lot of other fun stuff happened! The exact purpose of these weekly posts… because even when you don’t feel you have had a purposeful or successful week, I really did!

Now that I showed off my week, show off your week or something from this week and let us all see it! Don’t be shy! Make sure that when you share on Instagram you use #gettingquiltywithit. 

Sew Stitching Cute quilts

Sew Stitching Cute quilts


   

    An InLinkz Link-up
   

2 comments on “What I Did This Week #6 – WIDTW

  1. Hi Megan,
    I totally sympathize with your neck issues. I have a disc in my neck that slips and it gives me so much grief, the worst part of it are the days that I can't sew because of neck pain. Hang in there. Hope it feels better soon.
    Bernie

    Like

Leave a Reply

