WIP Wednesday and Frogs

I absolutely LOVE frogs… have I made that obvious yet? If not, I have completely failed at the true love I have for frogs. I am constantly asked why I love them and I truthfully wouldn’t have an answer for you. I often find myself asking the very same thing. The only thing I can remember last from any memory early on is after my parents separated and my mom bought a new home in 1993, my younger sister and I were able to decorate our bedrooms with the whole shebang. I remember telling her all about green and frogs, but I didn’t want a green room and I was not into all of the ‘fancy’ (prissy) colors (pink, purples, aquas, etc.); my mother told me how much a soft pink would look great with the green and all of the frog items. Looking back on it, how much I literally despised pink most of all, I have no idea how she convinced me to do so. Low and behold… my room was pink full of green and frogs. What I also remember, was going shopping for decor in the room and my favorite piece was this Silverchair Frogstomp poster. The best part, you ask? I nor my mother knew who they were, it was just perfect because it had a frog on it. I don’t know what happened to that poster but I definitely need to get another one. 

So following my absolute obsession and love for frogs, when I had seen Lorna over at Sew Fresh Quilts newest QAL had a frog block in it, I was all over it! Unfortunately I kind of found myself stuck on what fabric to use for the block as my idea was to use my vintage-y and older fabric in my stash. I had already used some pretty awesome fabrics to make super cute elephants for the #Elephantparadeqal but found myself not liking any of the fabrics for the frog block. There were tons of ideas, but nothing for the feel that I was going for in the fabric selection for this quilt. Until my wonderful #beehiveswammara ladies came through… with their generous giving of fabric scraps and frog fabric… one had sent me this adorable story time frog fabric and some other scraps (of course, mostly green). 
Once I had remembered about this, I immediately got to figuring out the rest… which wasn’t that hard as she had sent me scraps from her block that was made for me and it had the perfect green fabric for the legs! Off I went to sew one of the most adorable frogs… EVER! Isn’t he the cutest!?! I am obsessed with him! I love the frog sitting reading… I love the fabric on the legs… I love the eyes (which were another great steal from scrap fabric of mine that had those awesome circle designs on them) as they work perfect for frog eyes! 
I have plans to make lots and lots more of these amazing frog blocks! Thanks Lorna for these, they are going to be used tremendously by me! 
I am linking up and showing my stuff off today with WIP Wednesday w/ Freshly Pieced and Lets Bee Social w/Sew Fresh Quilts. Join in on the party and show your stuff off, too! 
7 comments on “WIP Wednesday and Frogs

  1. Very, fun froggy! He really is just about perfect.

    I had to laugh about your childhood bedroom story. I was another one of those little girls completely disgusted with pink, but my sister simply adored it. We shared a bedroom until we were teenagers, it was always pink. Turns out Mom liked pink too. I never had a chance.

    Like

  2. I have never been a pink person and we moved into a house with a blue room and a pink room. As I have a younger brother, it really was a no-brainer that I had to move into the pink carpeted and walled bedroom, but I really, really disliked it *shudder*. OK, enough about me! Your frog block is super cute and the frog fabric is so perfect for it! Yay! 🙂

    Like

  3. Haha I totally remember your pink room and that poster!!! After I got your room Mom somehow convinced me to paint it bright orange with navy accents…. And I HATE orange!! Makes me wonder what else mom convinced us to do??? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

