My Sisters Quilt: The Beginning

So late last year, my younger sister inquired about a pair of quilts. Specifically for her guest bedroom which has a set of twin beds in it. She has it decorated pretty cute; however she definitely loves things to be in ‘order’ (thanks mom). She wanted them as her Christmas gift… and as I am sure you can tell as I am writing this post now a month and a half after Christmas that it did not happen. Is it just me, or does it seem that when it comes to making something for a family member it seems to constantly be put on the back burner? Whether it be because it was a request or something I want to do, I have a good running list. I don’t believe my WIPs will ever end.

Kona White: 9 yards
Bella Solids – Sunshine: 13 yards
Kona Pewter: 15 yards

That is quite a lot of fabric for two quilts! My sister wanted something simple, chevron in grey and white with the back of the quilt being yellow. The guest bedroom is yellow so she didn’t want to overwhelm it and wanted it to be just a pop underneath. Simple enough. You’d think. Until it came to deciding larger or smaller chevrons which in turn also determined how many rows of chevron due to the size that was measured specifically for the beds. Oy-vey! Really it wasn’t that rough :::cough:::. In the end, it was decided on 10” finished HST which would create the chevron pattern which would allow for 7 rows and 10 columns (this is bigger than the finished size to allow for squaring and shrinkage at the end). 
I will be cutting my blocks at 11 1/2” to allow for squaring as I will be using the method that allows for making two HST at one time. That means for each quilt I need to cut 35 Pewter and 35 Kona White squares = 70 total of each color as this will be two quilts. Then… I have a long assembly line to create by massive amounts of HST’s. The best part about all of this is that I know my sister reads my blog, and she knows that this is for her… and she is now very excited that she saw the actual fabric in my sewing room. I can’t speak of the details as to how this has been able to begin happening now just yet… but she will have no idea when these will finally be coming her way. What I will say is that I am extremely thankful for the family that I have and how we all come together in the end for one another. I have watched us all grow and connect more in the past few years, relationships changing and new ones forming; it’s been a graceful and liberating journey to experience and one I am looking forward to as the years continue. 
I am excited for something simple and almost mindless sewing if you will. It looks like with 170 squares to cut, I better get to it! 
I am linking up and sharing my thankfulness over at Thankful Thursday w/ Quilting Jetgirl, so come on and share yours!
One comment on “My Sisters Quilt: The Beginning

  1. The spark of yellow on the back of these quilt is going to be a fun detail, Megan. I don't know about you, but I like chain piecing to a point. I like to sew a few HST blocks (maybe 10 or 12 to make 20 or 24 total) and then iron and trim them before sewing more. I like how that breaks up the work and keeps me from standing in one place too long. Good luck! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

