Quilty Support: Remind Yourself

This post will be the first of a series of posts that I am labeling, Quilty Support. I am labeling it Quilty Support as it more directly relates to the support all of us quilters and sewers alike give one another when we all are guilty of ‘putting ourselves down’. Whether it be in the crafty goodness we all make or in our own personal lives that go on behind the blogs, instagram pictures and facebook posts. We are. All. Guilty. (Raise your hand) I was inspired to do this series for two reasons:

1. In the past two weeks there has been a lot of emotions regarding my own self and my marriage and one big family emergency that required we all gather around one another even if for only mere support.

2. Angela Walters wrote a post recently regarding what we should not do or say to ourselves and it was something I found myself consistently thinking recently when in moments of slump with the events the emotions and events these past two weeks (I met a lot of those days recently).

In this series my goal, if any and even if for myself, is to be a journal towards the moments of growth which was really the start of my New Years Resolution. If you read along, then all the merrier and I hope you find some comfort in knowing you are not ever alone in this wonderful community. I am heading more of a quilting friends Quilty Thankful Thursday’s that she hosts and will post each Thursday for a specific Quilty Support over the next few weeks. You will be able to come back here with the updated related posts.

Quilty Support: Remind Yourself
Quilty Support: Quilting/Sewing Community
Quilty Support: Me, Myself and I
Quilty Support: Husband
Quilty Support: Family
Quilty Support: Friends
Quilty Support: Modern Quilt Guild
Quilty Support: Instagram Community
Quilty Support: Blogging Community

If you have read my blog for a bit now, you have read/heard slightly about my random comments and posts regarding striving for personal growth and ultimately ”finding myself”; well, I am just going to start off by first apologizing for ever seeming to be ‘secretive’ behind my words. It was never the intent but more like, “I really had no idea how to explain what I was feeling”. Really it all comes down to finding myself feeling lonely a lot even when I know I have a lot of people who love and care for me. I am married and my husband supports me fully to every extent he is capable of; however he is extremely limited due to other circumstances (another story in itself) and so to just say it, we do not live with one another. I live alone and support the whole house on my own while also taking care of the home upkeep, repairs, car, car repairs, blah. blah. blah. I am not the person to really be ‘sad’, I am the one who is always perky and very happy because really in my life, I am. Living as if you’re single, when you really aren’t single is a struggle and when you mix that with a personality that loves to explore and experience life, it doesn’t mix at times as your time is so limited because well, you’re the one doing it all. Topping it off, I don’t have support with friends and family because they are all in Southern California (where I am originally from). Call it growing up or call it home sick, either which way, it’s just how I feel. I am going to throw you a little off track by the next few things I am going to discuss, but I will tie it together at the end.

Earlier this week on Monday my friend told me she put a package in my sewing room. I did not get home until rather late and didn’t even remember until the following day after I returned home from work and went into my sewing room; with the package sitting on the cutting table. I instantly became excited but was also unsure what it was as I did not expect anything to be coming. As you can tell from the picture above, I was super ecstatic when I was opening this lovely package! This package came from the Liberty of London Swap 2 I took part of again and I had forgotten all about receiving one! LoL I had been eyeing this lovely Pear pincushion for some time after I had seen it on Amy over at Diary of a Quilter’s blog post from her trip last year to London and was overwhelmed by the thoughtfulness from my partner @skirtfixation and her daughters because they literally got every love of mine!

This pillow has to be by far my favorite item and mostly because it really “hits home” with me. Not only do I have an obsession with pillows but I have a terrible love for California and the ocean. I miss it dearly. All the way down to the amazing detailed thread work in this United States pillow to the hand stitching of the Liberty fabric, it is perfect. Look closely and you will see how the states California and Missouri (Kansas City, MO) are done in Liberty fabric while all the other states are threaded. How amazing is that!?!?! I teared up when I saw this pillow because of how thoughtful it was and really meant that my partner had taken time to get to know me to really go beyond and do sentimental items. Items that I will never be able to replace and will treasure forever. I have had a few thoughts of marking the pillow with the states that I have lived in and states I have visited… I don’t want to ruin the pillow however and may use fancy pins to do that as this is definitely a decorative pillow I will brag about forever.

Next up, look at all of these goodies!?!? I am never (literally never) without Trident Spearmint gum, adorable embroidery scissors (who doesn’t ever need a fresh pair of these?), green tea which is something I drink a lot of at work, glass head pins, the “I can’t wait to use” Hot Iron Transfers all in you guessed it, FROG and a quarter yard of the lovely and colorful scenic Liberty fabric! There may or may not have been 4 Rice Krispy Treats as part of the extras that were harmed in the making of photos… but I am no tattle tail.

Now I know everyone has been either wanting one or wanting to make one of these Sew Together Bags that were created by Sew Demented. I know I did! Well… my partner beat me to making my own and even with that, she did something personal on it! See the block that she created for the front of the bag? That’s the Missouri Star State Quilt Block… I am beginning to feel like I need to majorly step up my game on gift exchanging. It was lined with some of the most beautiful purple liberty fabrics and she even went so far to put on the cutest frog prince charm on the zipper! I mean… I am balling at this point! It’s like crying when you’re pregnant for absolutely no reason but I am not pregnant by any means so I just get to deal with the emotions.

These bags really can hold a lot and I am excited for everything I will be able to stuff into it! Just look at how much @skirtfixation was able to stuff in the bag for gifting!
4 – Rice Krispy Treats
2 – Packs of gum
1 – Package of 100 glass head pins
1 – Pair of embroidery scissors
8 – Green Tea Packets
1 – Sewing Machine and Scissor Charm
There was plenty of room left!

You’re probably wondering a bit how this all comes together with the Quilty Support series I mentioned in the beginning, right? It all comes together because this package (like many others) seem to come at a time when it is needed most and needed for the support we all need when it comes to our craftiness whether it be because of things out or in our control. While I will be touching base for different segments of that Quilty Support over the next few weeks, I believe each one really relishes on its own.

Here I was winding down from an exhausting two weeks of drag out emotions and then hit with the family emergency which just took on emotions of its own, that I had not really sewing much in the past two weeks and would almost say I really hadn’t. If anything, I sat in there at times just to feel the happiness I feel when I am surrounded by it all, just trying to keep the spirit alive at that moment I guess. I had been questioning a lot of things this past Tuesday, more than the usual and this package could not have come at a better time. A better time to REMIND MYSELF that in the most trying and questioning moments in my life, I am surrounded by such a large group of amazing people that I love to support and love to support me back. It was the package that I needed to boost myself back into my A-game (humor me) with no further loathing and no further distance from the sewing machine. Some people after having some time away from their sewing machine seem to almost enjoy it but rather, I have realized it is what really drives me with happiness. It is a part that I am unwilling to compromise in the future as I seem to lose myself when I do as I have given so much of myself in many other areas of my life that I can’t afford to lose the things that allows me to ‘zen’ in good times, bad times and even the sickest of times.

I welcome you to remind yourself each time you question or doubt yourself in anything you do, because in this wonderful community of quilters and sewers, we have so much love to go around that there is never someone without a shoulder to lean on! I hope that each person I encounter and interact would always know that at any time, I am a friend that supports them in each endeavor they partake in their lives! And a personal THANK YOU to each and every one of you that I have had the pleasure to interact with and share a part of mine or your life as I cherish each person and their gift of friendship!

With that being said, I am linking up at Quilty Thankful Thursday w/ Quilting Jetgirl and Needle and Thread Thursdays w/ My Quilt Infatuation.

2 comments on “Quilty Support: Remind Yourself

Leave a Reply

