What I Did This Week #10 – WIDTW

Good morning to all of you lovelies and welcome to another week of showing off your stuff (we do that all of the time though, right?)! This morning, I woke up with a storm and personally, I love driving in the rain. I would fit perfectly in Washington because I absolutely love the rain and then love soaking up rays of sunshine at it’s finest when everything is at it’s greenest. I am lucky to have the view I have at work…

A few weeks ago I shared this picture on Instagram. Crazy what a good few days of rain will do, huh? Now to just get those trees blooming with leaves.

Almost a month ago (insert dropped jaw here) I shared the ‘pencil pouch‘ I was trying to make that didn’t end up as successful as I had liked. I will be giving it another shot, but not this go around.

Being part of a swap has more advantages than disadvantages. The only disadvantage that I personally see in it is that when life throws you a hard curve ball, you have a deadline that is always nagging on your mind but at the same time can’t find it anywhere to be able to meet it. Although, everyone is particularly lovely and understanding about it, but it doesn’t stop me from feeling like a P.O.S. about it though either. So really, no negatives then. You meet lots of great people and so long as you are enjoying the process, the process will enjoy you.

Along with the pencil pouch, the real purpose for the Liberty of London Tana Lawn Round 2 was to make a mini. And I think I may have really went all out with the whole “mini” thing. It may be stretching it as a mug rug and I honestly forgot to take measurements before every packing it up but it sure is a mini.

This is my first ever paper piece that I have officially done from beginning to end and I did make a few mistakes (well learned). I got the paper pieced generously here from Blossom Hearts Quilts and if you see it already again now after knowing what the pattern was to be… well, you may be laughing at me like I was laughing at myself (which was after being extremely disappointed and frustrated) as I realized every bit of what I did wrong.

This was supposed to be a feather paper pieced.
1. I cut off the top curved end on the smaller side of the feather which tooka way from it’s overall ‘feather’ shape.
2. On the larger end, I used actual printed fabric that would form the feather rather than the background, which again would allow for it to form the ‘feather’ shape.
3. I lost about 2 inches on all sides in the end never understanding why I was… until it was all quilted and ready to be binded did I realized what I had done.

So there you have it, in all my faults and glory. I cursed at myself for some time and almost began it all over again until I continued to sit there and stair at it on my design wall and from a distance, I began to love it in all its own. I loved each Liberty print in it and I loved the bold green for the background and my personal favorite, the quilting. I used a variegated thread that I had gotten at Connecting Threads called Luck ‘O the Irish and the bobbing was a bright yellow that I had had for awhile. I love how you see it really defined in some placed and then it really blends in others, almost giving it just the slightest bit of movement.

I used flannel for the center which was supposed to be a ‘stem’ and while I like it, I don’t love it. I only liked it more once I quilted it. The only reason I don’t love it is because of it’s stretch, I could have cut 1/2” less and it wouldn’t have bunched up or been difficult to match seems since it has a natural stretch to a degree. I do love that it gives it a bit of dimension.

I did get to use my new labels!

I did struggle with just keeping this for myself and reminding myself of my first shot and starting all over again for my partner, but to be honest, I really put a lot of heart and soul into this, even with its mistakes and all. I know that if my partner had made those mistakes with all of the effort and love they put into it, I would want it just as and so I am confidently telling myself  that and hoping my partner loves it all the same.

I did decided to hand stitch the binding on the back since it was such a mini and I was quite pleased with my stitches. I have come a long ways since my first attempt back in August with hand binding (which I still haven’t completed my first hand binding project either… ugh, confession mouth today or what?). Also, I was really pleased with once again how great my new label looked on the mini! Definitely puts a smile on this face!

I was gifted 1/4 yard of this Liberty Print that has lots of colors in it and I thought it was fitting for the binding. I thought it helped bring out more of the colors that are in the feather itself since there is so much solid going on in the background for such a small mini. I am not sure what specific line it is from and have tried searching, if anyone knows, I am happy to update.

Those good `ole binding clips… what did sewers do before us? I am thankful for less pokes in my fingers because of these bad boys.

I did stop at the store before packaging this up for my partner and threw in a few more items. I won’t lie, I am nervous and hoping they love it for the fabric and art in mistakes.

I am still waiting for a special package to arrive so I can’t share it this week and was hoping to, so I am hoping soon! In the meantime though, now that you know What little I Did This Week, share and show off what you feel accomplished for!

Sew Stitching Cute quilts


Sew Stitching Cute quilts

  

    An InLinkz Link-up
   

I am linking up and showing off over at Finish it up Friday w/ Crazy Mom Quilts, Can I Get a Whoop Whoop w/ Confession of a Fabric Addict and Thank Goodness it’s Finished Friday this week w/ Quokka Quilts; head on over and show your stuff off, too!

6 comments on “What I Did This Week #10 – WIDTW

  1. I think you work is really good for somebody who does not do a lot of paper piecing! I like how you combined the fabrics and colours!
    Just keep doing more pp! You will LOVE it!
    Esther
    esthersipatchandquilt at yahoo dot com

    Like

Leave a Reply

