February Crafty Birthday Bash

A February post in April? What is the non sense?!?!

Following along with a prior post from last week regarding the Liberty of London Swap Round 2 I was a part of, next up is the #craftybirthdaybash1, in which I am terribly and shamefully behind on. I shared what I had done for the January Birthday and lets just say I have just now sent out February’s and March is following close behind because I am bound to get caught up to April… IN April.

For the #craftybirthdaybash1 swap, there are a total of 12 members in each group. Just like any swap, a questionnaire was completed before groups were assigned. Each member is eventually assigned a month of the year (at best possible, your birthday month) and for that month, you are spoiled rotten from each lady with ‘birthday gifts’. It is the same as a year long bee swap as you are spoiled with items coming in for the month, but this is for your birthday. Just as any and all others swaps I have spoken about, it is a great way for skill building and advancing your horizons with others among other great benefits.

For the February Birthday girl @ohhowsweetco I decided to brave the Sew Together Bag by SewDemented that I have been wanting to make for some time and recently received from my secret Liberty of London Swap Round 2 partner. When I think of Melissa I think of lots of colors… but soft, bold colors. Oxy-moron, right? I also think of lots of fun. I have never met Melissa but I absolutely adore her and she is as sweet as can be and has bared with me during the transition in my personal life and merging with my quilting/sewing life. I’m never confident in my choices (It’s a work in progress) but quite honestly, I’m loving this bag!

The exterior fabric is one that I snatched during a fabric destash from someone on Instagram. When I had seen the fabric, I couldn’t pass it up as I knew something could be made with it (but we can say that with any fabric, am I right?). If anyone knows the line of fabric, please let me know and I would love to update. After deciding the exterior I needed to find coordinating fabric(s) for the binding as well as decide what I was going to do for the inside. With all of the hints of color for the fun exterior fabric, I decided to do some matching.

Zipper Colors
Burnt Orange
Ocean Blue
Lime Green (2)

The main interior fabric (and decided for the binding) I went with this teal print I had in my stash (and don’t ask where it came from) as well, I mentioned earlier when I see teal I think of @ohhowsweetco so I just went with it. Personally, you can’t go wrong with teal or aqua.

Interior Pocket Kona Cotton Fabric Colors
Carrot
Sky Blue
Peridot

:::pat self on back::: I smiled ear to ear when I finished this Sew Together Bag up and unzipped those zippers. Satisfied. Check.

Along with the Sew Together Bag I whipped up some coasters. I took 4 charm squares from the Charm Pack called Lazy Day from Riley Blake I got from MSQC about a year ago. I didn’t do anything too special aside from a little bit of quilting with that shiny and sparkly thread, the same thread I used on the prior #craftybirthdaybash1 pillow I made for January’s birthday month. I did add a light stabilizer to them to allow for a bit of sturdiness to them

I quilted two of them with straight lines and two with diagonal lines.

I through in a few other goodies and fabric along with the package, but these were the special handmade items made for the birthday girl.

One last photo just for fun…

I would like to thank everyone who has reached out to me regarding a prior post and personal aspects going on in my personal life, I really do appreciate it and will be getting back to you, I promise! I am personally and mentally doing better and accepting things as they for the time being; I’m not quite ready to make any huge decisions and am finding I will be better off within myself by allowing things to be as they will be. I know that I am doing all that I am capable of doing. I’m playing a lot of catch up (and boy does it feel good). I don’t like staying ‘down’ for too long and almost feel embarrassed having shared it,… but it is life and I have to accept it as it comes; but ever since I have let it out I have slowly begun to feel pressure release from me. I don’t understand how I lose sewing mojo when it is the thing that literally makes me feel content, peaceful and happy all in one.

Let the sewing commence!

I am showing off and linking up over at Show and Tell w/ I Have to Say…, Fabric Tuesday w/ Quilt Story and Sew Cute Tuesday w/ Blossom Heart Quilts so hop on over and show your stuff off, too!

2 comments on “February Crafty Birthday Bash

Leave a Reply

