Round Robin Progress

Last year I shared that I had joined my first Round Robin, this one specifically targeted towards only Batik fabrics (which I had honestly never heard of prior to joining this Round Robin). The group is called Rock’n Round Robin. Overall it has been a great experience; however I will be sure I associate myself with the leaders of the group before deciding if I am joining or not as I everyone has different ways of communicating with others and unfortunately, I most certainly did not agree with theirs.

This is my starter row, which will eventually be enclosed by 6 additional rows and making this quite the snuggle quilt when it is done! I am considering these each a WIP as they are not completed yet… my part for it may be but the entire quilt is still under construction.

Apparently I am not only colors inside, I am colorful in my fabrics, too! hehe I love neautrals though and am not sure what keeps me from using them more often. I am unable to show you the quilt in all its glory at the moment as everything is kept a secret until the original owners receives it; however there were lots of points and ‘arrows’ so-to-speak, which led me to the below concept. 

I actually ended up locing this row so much, that I have drawn it up on paper for a full pattern. I will be cutting the fabric this weekend (as if I needed anything else to do). It won’t be as scrappy, but I think it is a fun and quick way to put something together that has a little more design to it yet you don’t feel like you did so much work! I was super surprised how quick I was able to whip this up when I finally decided on what to do.

I wasn’t able to get a picture of this row without it being already sewn onto the entire quilt so my apologies on the offset nature of the photo. This one, because of a time crunch I originally had something else planned but decided to use large blocks with strips of the black batik that was sent from the original row owner to use if need be. I did the large blocks in earth tones as the other sides row was in earth tones as well as ‘boxy’ and I wanted to keep the flow going with it instead of using loud colors which were not anything part of this Batik quilt.

Because of so much going on around here lately, I forgot to publish my post yesterday for Tips and Tutorial Tuesday; therefore it will have to wait until next week! The following week I will be showing how I also make crib sheets… nothing super different from the standard way, but I find my method to be a bit quicker as well the seams inside of the sheet being hidden rather than exposed. Anyhow, be sure to be on the look out for that. I also have a new CURVED (that’s right, CURVED) pattern I’ve finished and am putting the final touches to! 
Question: I am personally finding it easier that I complete something each day, whether it be a good part of a quilt, a specific small item (pouch, wallet, etc) each day, knowing that each day I am closer and closer to being done or completed with several things and as the days roll on more and more is complete; this isn’t how I used to work though as I tend to like to just power through things and do them in a batch. I am finding myself conflicted with what feels better for me… anyone process or complete things in a certain way or have any opinions about the method of keeping the flow going?
I am linking up and showing off at WIP Wednesday w/ Freshly Pieced and Let’s Bee Social w/ Sew Fresh Quilts so head on over and show your stuff off, too!
3 comments on “Round Robin Progress

  1. I used to be a one project person – two projects at the most. Now – I'm working on several at a time. So I work as you have described and as long as I work each day on something, I'm happy. Most projects do not have a deadline. Eventually, I'll finish and that's works for me.

    Like

  2. Both of your projects are looking good! I love those blocks in that second row, too. They remind me of a pieced version of flying geese. Is there a method to my quilty madness? I don't know. I am always thinking of quilting even when I am not doing it. And whenever I get the opportunity… I just Keep On Quilting On.

    Like

Leave a Reply

