[Tip] – When You’re In A Crunch for Sewing Time…

… be sure to have all of your supplies!

I was in a crunch when I needed to finish the last Rock’n Round Robin row onto a quilt which I showed last week. Well, I was in such a time crunch when I was working on this (about 3 weeks ago) and the night before I was struggling to stay awake at the sewing machine (but of course once I went to bed, it took me forever to fall asleep which led me to thinking why am I not sewing if I am not sleeping but yet I can’t get to sleep if I am not laying down…) and finally decided that this was just going with me to work the next day!

Today I thought I would share with you a quick tip for utilizing just about anything around you or the place you are in, in order to get your sewing done! I am sure we have all been met with deadlines but have other commitments (like the job that keeps the utilities on :::insert sad face here:::) and among life in itself, can’t find the time to get it done; I got her done! hehe

Supplies Needed:
(They will vary depending on your project)
Project at hand
Sewing Machine
Thread
Bobbin(s)
Cutting Mat
Rotary Cutter (or scissors if in a real punch)
Fabric Marking Pen/Pencil
Ruler (of any kind at this point)
Extra’s:
(If you remember)
Pins
Pin Cushion
Portable Design Wall
Whatever else you can think of…
Luckily it was a slow day at work (or I would have never done this) and I was able to take up shop downstairs in my office’s basement. The large break room table became my sewing table and cutting table…

One of two very large couches became my design wall…

A small white chair with a white rag on it next to the last electrical (in my reach) plug was available; which was also where all phone lines and electrical is based became my iron board…

The small table to the right of it became the table where I laid the blocks out for ironing.

So to say that when in a crunch and needing to sew, I have quite learned that I don’t need all the fancy set ups and all the appropriate devices such as tables and ironing boards to sew… if I want to sew I really can. Yet they say that with anything, don’t they? If you really want to do something, you will. So I did.

 I am grateful that I work for a company that supports ME and not just the job I do FOR them. I hope you enjoyed today’s quick TIP! Never say never when it comes to sewing! You CAN get it done.

I am linking up and sharing my tip over at Tips and Tutorials Tuesday w/ Late Night Quilter so stop on over and check out all the other great Tips and Tutorials or share yours!

Leave a Reply

