What I Did This Week #15 – WIDTW

In light of yesterday’s post, it definitely doesn’t always have to be so dapper. :o) Even though my whole intention yesterday was to really also remind us all of our own positivity towards not only others but our own selves. That’s something to smile about. It’s also another week of What I Did This Week… so be sure to link up your awesome finish or finishES for What YOU Did This Week and feel good about it!

You guys remember the fundraiser I did almost a month ago (where does time go?) with the t-shirts I offer for sale at my Etsy store? Well, after much tribulation of life and Etsy transferring funds, I was FINALLY able to meet Karen (@peaceloveandquilts) and get her fundraiser money. She is just as lovely as ever! Her daughter is the cutest as she can be… I don’t know if I could ever get enough of her. I even got to meet the quilt that we saved!

I’ll be talking more about that next week, as her and I have plans to go to a Guild Meeting together next week already! 
We did meet at Quilted Memories, the shop that I rent longarm time at. I love going there and I love using the longarm, but that was not my night. I had so much thread breakage, loops in my stitches and the stiffness on the machine was not balancing right. I spent two hours on a machine not getting anywhere before I was able to move to another one in which I only had left about 45 minutes of quilting time which then resulted in just two rows being quilted by the end of 3 1/2 hours. Ack! I am still considering this my big accomplishment for the week. 
I shared this picture on instagram when I was about to roll up the top onto the bar. Remember this fabric? No? That’s probably because I first talked about it in FEBRUARY and after mail and other quilting issues on this one, I am finally getting to be able to complete it. Maybe. 

I have given up the attempt at making ‘feathers’ and accepting that I make leafy vine looking quilting, which suites me just fine. I don’t think I could quilt in such uniformity and am finding that I am much more of a graphiti quilter than an ‘all over pattern’ on a quilt.

I did decide to do the white with straight lines curving back and forth which I think will help keep the straight lines of the modern chevron design while the curves in the grey will allow for movement in the quilt. We shall see how it turns out when I get to finish this up on Saturday… so long as the longarm and me get along, that is.

Now show your stuff off as I’d love to check it out!

Sew Stitching Cute quilts







Sew Stitching Cute quilts




   

   
2 comments on “What I Did This Week #15 – WIDTW

Leave a Reply

