Got WIP?

Many of these are no longer currently WIPs but I am waiting for them to be received; therefore you’ll just have to stare at the extra’s and in process pictures for the time being until then.

I had recently come across a post from Stitched in Color when she was making drawstring bags for a handful of people that she wanted to thank for helping her through a recent trialing time for her family with the recent birth of her newest daughter; the tutorial is from In Color Order: Lined Drawstring Bag Tutorial. It really is the perfect bag (and quick!) to make for packaging up items for swaps or gifting it for any purpose! I wouldn’t have minded one of these when I crocheted as I would totally throw in a ball of yarn and get to twisting that yarn around the hook. It is safe to say that I will be making a bag for every swap because it is a great use for large fabric scraps or just that fabric you might not ever touch but can’t get rid of yet (I knew there was a purpose for the fabric I used one day…).

There are lots of goodies in this bag…

including the requested block from the Queen Bee. Cue for quilting in the crosswords puzzle print which was from a low volume swap I did last year.

by Blossom Heart Quilts

This lovely bunch was turned into something new (for me) to make for the #craftybirthdaybash1 in which I also teamed with @myteaandbrie for coordinating a few items; although the iron on’s didn’t make it onto the final project. That lovely turqoise blue print is actually a canvas so it is sturdy and heavy… perfect I think for the ‘project’ it was used for.

Here is a sneak peak at one of the items in progress… any guesses as to what this may be? (There is clear vinyl on top which is what the zippers are attached to)

Remember this kitty? I posted a video of her on my Instagram what seems like years ago (but really only months) of her, I rescued her from our job as she was frozen to the ground. I normally don’t allow her on the cutting table and only on my chair; however she kept sneaking up as I hadn’t been paying much attention to her. She is much more talkative with churping meows and lots of purrrrr’s… looks healthier, too! I am also happy to report both her legs from the frost bite have healed! 

Now to leave you with my view from yesterday at the end of my work day. It was simply beautiful out and the only nice day this week… it is now met with clouds and spurts of rain.

To lead into tomorrow; I have been seeing a huge shift within the community of sewers, quilters and crafters. To me, it is a huge mix between negativity and positivity. I have experienced first hand the power of what our community can ‘bring to the table’ when we are called upon but I am also seeing a lot of negativity towards things things that are meant to be fun and enjoyable. Even in regards to swaps there is more and more of what has been deemed the Blacklist for swap partners. I don’t disagree with a lot of the issues that are stated, but I disagree in how it seems to be presented, intentional or not. Either way, I’ll be touching base more on this tomorrow as part of my Quilty Support series in which tomorrow I will be discussing our own integrity and behavior when part of a group/swap, etc.

Sew Stitching Cute

I am showing off and linking up over at WIP Wednesday w/Freshly Pieced and Let’s Bee Social w/ Sew Fresh Quilts, so stop on over and show your stuff off, too!

One comment on “Got WIP?

Leave a comment